Friday, June 13, 2008

What are the types of assemblies?

There are four types of assemblies in .NET:

Static assemblies
These are the .NET PE files that you create at compile time.

Dynamic assemblies
These are PE-formatted, in-memory assemblies that you dynamically create at runtime using the classes in the System.Reflection.Emit namespace.

Private assemblies
These are static assemblies used by a specific application.

Public or shared assemblies
These are static assemblies that must have a unique shared name and can be used by any application.
An application uses a private assembly by referring to the assembly using a static path or through an XML-based application configuration file. While the CLR doesn't enforce versioning policies-checking whether the correct version is used-for private assemblies, it ensures that an
application uses the correct shared assemblies with which the application was built. Thus, an application uses a specific shared assembly by referring to the specific shared assembly, and the CLR ensures that the correct

No comments: